Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Buchin, Zachary
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
304 Davie Hall
buchinzl@live.unc.edu

Zachary studies memory and how it can be enhanced using varying experimental techniques. Visit him online: Zachary Buchin.


Imamoglu, Aslihan
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
346 Davie Hall
aslihan@live.unc.edu

Aslihan studies memory and emotions, primarily focusing how different emotion regulation strategies influence recall performance.


Key, Julianne
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
364B Davie Hall
jhg11@email.unc.edu

Jools studies the mechanisms underlying visual attention and distraction. Visit her online: Julianne Key.


Kung, Fanting
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
364A Davie Hall
fanting@live.unc.edu

Fanting studies language processing, particularly its underlying mechanisms.


Langella, Stephanie
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
349 Davie Hall
langella@live.unc.edu

Stephanie studies the cognitive neuroscience of memory and the development of dementia in aging populations.


Langlois, Valerie
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
349 Davie Hall
valeriel@live.unc.edu

Valerie studies psycholinguistics, language production, and speech. Visit her online: Valerie Langlois.


Liceralde, Van
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
304 Davie Hall
vliceral@live.unc.edu

Van studies the interactive effects of cognitive factors and linguistic constraints on language processes, particularly those involving figuratively expressions.


Meyer, Kristin
Advisors: Dr. Margaret Sheridan and Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
knmeyer@live.unc.edu


Kristin studies the development of attentional networks and executive functioning in typical and clinical populations, particularly as it applies to processing social information.


Mitchell, Mackenzie
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
346 Davie Hall
macmitch@live.unc.edu

Mackenzie studies the role of cognitive control networks in typical and atypical developmental populations.


Morgan, Hannah
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
350 Davie Hall
hlmorgan@live.unc.edu

Hannah studies the early mechanisms of involuntary and voluntary attention using fMRI, EEG, and eye tracking.


Nemeth, Kayleigh
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
364A Davie Hall
kayjn@live.unc.edu

Kayleigh studies mechanisms of language in the human brain.


Pancani, Giulia
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
gpancani@unc.edu


Giulia studies the mechanisms underlying the early stages of word recognition and lexical processing and how other aspects of cognition, such as memory and attention, can affect these early stages of comprehension.


Parsons, Jonathan
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
124 Howell Hall
jtpar@live.unc.edu

Jonathan studies voluntary and reflexive forms of orienting attention, using a variety of neuroimaging and neuromodulatory techniques.


Powers, J. Annaliisa
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
346 Davie Hall
apowers8@live.unc.edu

Annaliisa studies the techniques and materials which can facilitate meaningful learning and bolster long-term memory.


Roth, Shaina
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364 Davie Hall
sgarris2@live.unc.edu

Shaina studies the cognitive neuroscience of aging and memory.


Rudolph, Marc
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
124 Howell Hall
marcr@live.unc.edu

Marc studies the development and interaction (organization and reconfiguration) between brain networks in both health and disease across the lifespan.


Seo, Min Sung
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364B Davie Hall
msungseo@email.unc.edu

Min Sung studies memory and aging.


Weatherford, Kathryn
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
338A Davie Hall
kcweatherford@unc.edu


West, John
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
304 Davie Hall
johnwest@live.unc.edu

John studies factors that influence explicit memory, such as attention and emotion.


Williams, Elyce
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
350 Davie Hall
elyceely@live.unc.edu

Elyce studies psycholinguistics, speech development, and language production.


Woodburn, Mac
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
364B Davie Hall
mawoodbu@live.unc.edu

Mac studies cognitive and functional network development during childhood, in relation to typical and atypical trajectories.


Ye, Yining (Elaine)
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
364A Davie Hall
yiningy2@email.unc.edu

Yining studies psycholinguistics, language comprehension, and development.