Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Cascone, Arianna
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
124 Howell Hall
acascone@live.unc.edu

Arianna is a graduate student in the Neuroscience Curriculum, and she studies the neural underpinnings of response inhibition in children with and without ADHD.


Dik, Feyza Nur (Feyza)
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
feyzadik@unc.edu


Feyza is stydying psycholinguistics and language processing.


Fackler, Nikki
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
349 Davie Hall
nfackler@ad.unc.edu

Nikki studies the cognitive processes underlying language processing and comprehension.


Fiedler, Jennifer
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364B Davie Hall
jfiedler@unc.edu

Jenny combines behavioral and neuroimaging approaches to study various aspects of episodic memory in younger and older adults.


Gereau, Annabel
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
349 Davie Hall
agereau@unc.edu

Annabel studies the science of learning and instruction, with a specific focus in applying cognitive psychology to improve online learning environments.


Imamoglu, Aslihan
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
346 Davie Hall
aslihan@live.unc.edu

Aslihan studies memory and emotions, primarily focusing how different emotion regulation strategies influence recall performance.


Johnson, Elyce
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
350 Davie Hall
elyceely@live.unc.edu

Elyce studies psycholinguistics, speech development, and language production.


Key, Julianne
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
364A Davie Hall
jhg11@email.unc.edu

Jools studies the mechanisms underlying visual attention and distraction. Visit her online: Julianne Key.


Kung, Fanting
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
364A Davie Hall
fanting@live.unc.edu

Fanting studies language processing, particularly its underlying mechanisms.


Liceralde, Van
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
304 Davie Hall
vliceral@live.unc.edu

Van studies the interactive effects of cognitive factors and linguistic constraints on language processes, particularly those involving figuratively expressions.


Mitchell, Mackenzie
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
346 Davie Hall
memitchell@unc.edu

Mackenzie studies the role of cognitive control networks in typical and atypical developmental populations.


Morgan, Hannah
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
350 Davie Hall
hlmorgan@live.unc.edu

Hannah studies the early mechanisms of involuntary and voluntary attention using fMRI, EEG, and eye tracking.


Powers, J. Annaliisa
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
346 Davie Hall
apowers8@live.unc.edu

Annaliisa studies the techniques and materials which can facilitate meaningful learning and bolster long-term memory.


Roth, Shaina
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364 Davie Hall
sgarris2@live.unc.edu

Shaina studies the cognitive neuroscience of aging and memory.


Roy, Simantika
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
364A Davie
roysim@unc.edu

Simantika is interested in investigating reference resolution using a statistical learning approach at the sentence and discourse level.


Rudolph, Marc
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
124 Howell Hall
marcr@live.unc.edu

Marc studies the development and interaction (organization and reconfiguration) between brain networks in both health and disease across the lifespan.


Seo, Min Sung
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364B Davie Hall
msungseo@email.unc.edu

Min Sung studies memory and aging.


Weatherford, Kathryn
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
364B Davie Hall
kcweatherford@unc.edu


West, John
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
304 Davie Hall
johnwest@live.unc.edu

John studies factors that influence explicit memory, such as attention and emotion.


Woodburn, Mac
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Cohen
364B Davie Hall
mawoodbu@live.unc.edu

Mac studies cognitive and functional network development during childhood, in relation to typical and atypical trajectories.


Ye, Yining (Elaine)
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
364A Davie Hall
yiningy2@email.unc.edu

Yining studies psycholinguistics, language comprehension, and development.