Graduate Students


Buchin, Zachary
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
346 Davie Hall
buchinzl@live.unc.edu

Zachary studies memory and how it can be enhanced using varying experimental techniques. Visit him online: Zachary Buchin.


Furlong, Sarah
Advisors: Dr. Jessica Cohen and Dr. Margaret Sheridan
244 Davie Hall
124 Howell Hall
sarah.furlong@unc.edu

Sarah studies the development and flexibility of functional brain networks and the diagnosis and treatment of developmental disorders, particularly attention-deficit and hyperactivity disorder in early childhood. Visit her online: Sarah Furlong.


Garrison, Shaina
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364B Davie Hall
sgarris2@live.unc.edu

Shaina studies the cognitive neuroscience of aging and memory.


Langella, Stephanie
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
349 Davie Hall
langella@live.unc.edu

Stephanie studies the cognitive neuroscience of memory and the development of dementia in aging populations.


Langlois, Valerie
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
349 Davie Hall
valeriel@live.unc.edu

Valerie studies psycholinguistics, language production, and speech.


Liceralde, Van
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
364A Davie Hall
vliceral@live.unc.edu

Van studies the interactive effects of cognitive factors and linguistic constraints on language processes, particularly those involving figuratively expressions.


Meyer, Kristin
Advisors: Dr. Margaret Sheridan and Joseph Hopfinger
244 Davie Hall
knmeyer@live.unc.edu

Kristin studies the development of attentional networks and executive functioning in typical and clinical populations, particularly as it applies to processing social information.


Pancani, Giulia
Advisor: Dr. Peter Gordon
304A Davie Hall
gpancani@unc.edu

Giulia studies the mechanisms underlying the early stages of word recognition and lexical processing and how other aspects of cognition, such as memory and attention, can affect these early stages of comprehension.


Parsons, Jonathan
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Hopfinger
346 Davie Hall
jtpar@live.unc.edu


Powell, Patrick
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
350 Davie Hall
pspowell@email.unc.edu


Smith, S. Adam
Advisor: Dr. Neil Mulligan
304A Davie Hall
anduil@email.unc.edu

Adam studies attention and memory, particularly within virtual learning environments.


Varangis, Eleanna
Advisor: Dr. Kelly Giovanello
364B Davie Hall
varangis@live.unc.edu

Eleanna studies the neural substrates of both short-term and long-term cognitive changes associated with concussion and the behavioral differences in memory performance on acute or prolonged effects of sports-related concussions.


Weatherford, Kathryn
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
364B Davie Hall
kcweatherford@unc.edu


Williams, Elyce
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
350 Davie Hall
elyceely@live.unc.edu

Elyce studies psycholinguistics, speech development, and language production.


Zerkle, Sandra
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Arnold
350 Davie Hall
szerkle@live.unc.edu

Sandra studies psycholinguistics, referent production, speech, and gesture. Visit her online: Sandra Zerkle.